Navigating My Twenties

I had the time of my life in college, traveling the world and leaving my mark. But now that I have graduated, I am faced with the ominous, inevitable question: now what?

Beginning my collegiate career at Michigan State University four years ago, I was an unconfident college freshman with a lanyard around my neck and a book in my hand. I’ve since swapped the lanyard for a lavaliere, the book has increased threefold in width, and my confidence has grown. But every day since has been spent in pursuit of my ideal college degree, perfecting the road-less-traveled to my American dream.

In this, I have always had a plan. In fact, my plans usually have plans. This is both a blessing and a curse. I’ve always known where I’m going and how I’ll get there. But, it doesn’t leave a lot of room for error. When my fantasies of eradicating world hunger and making the Forbes 100 faded into the job market amidst the recession, reality hit.

For the first time I had no idea where I was going or what I would do. What does one do with a political theory or an international relations degree? The truth was, I had been so focused on understanding Plato, Nietzsche and Tocqueville that I had not taken my nose out of the book long enough to consider life past these ivy-covered halls.

With diploma in hand, my lack of a life plan is all the more apparent while situated next to my business-major friends with plush internships and early signing bonuses. As I straddle the fine line between unemployed and unemployable, I hope to discover a new plan as I navigate these stormy waters of my early twenties.

Leave a Reply

