Post-Grad Opportunities

So, you want to travel after graduation? I got a job doing just that.

As I faced graduation season, my lack of a life plan became blatantly apparent. It seemed like everyone I knew had a plan, everyone knew where they were going. they were enrolled at some of the best law and medical schools in the nation, employed by important national companies. Their diplomas already had designated spaces on the walls of their new lives, a shiny accessory of those four years they had left behind.

But what did I want to do with the rest of my life? The truth was that I did not know. Maybe I wanted to be a lawyer. Maybe I wanted to work in communications. Maybe I wanted to work for the government. Before plunging head first into three years of further school with a $300,000 student loan parachute to bring me back to reality, I realized that I needed time to think about what I really wanted.

I wanted to travel, and I wanted to write.

Travel is an unfortunate passion for a penniless young adult. While I have been fortunate enough to channel these interests through study abroad opportunities, the real world regrettably does not offer study abroad. Oh, you need to find yourself, you want to see the world? That is called vacation, and it has a time limit. I obviously was not equipped to take on the real world.

So, I decided to take a gap year to teach English abroad.

This was both a widely popular and unpopular decision at once. Many people think that it is time to get serious, to find a job, or to start school again.  But many more tell me if I am going to take time to travel, I should do it now before I have a job, a family, and ties that make leaving for an extended period of time impossible. So, why not.

By some miracle I was taken on as an English Foreign Language instructor at Dirección de Lingüística e Intercambios Culturales (DLIC), Centro de Educación Continua de la Escuela Politécnica Nacional (CEC-EPN) in Quito, Ecuador.

This university  is one of the oldest universities in Ecuador. It was, founded in 1869 by President Garciá Moreno. Educating over 6,000 students from local businesses, banks, high schools, and government institutions, as well as university  students, DLIC-CEC-EPN is the largest English language institute in Ecuador. Currently it is  ranked as the number one, category A, university in Ecuador.

Fellow faculty members will total more than 170 English instructors, with over 60 percent being international. The best part of this is that one of my best friends Kirsten Grooms will be one of those 170 faculty members!

I hope that this year abroad will provide me with the important professional and life experience that I need to springboard into my new life as a graduate. I hope to connect with my students in a meaningful way– to change them and all them to change me. I hope to explore every inch of the country in my free time to fall in love with a new land, a new continent, a new hemisphere. In the end, I hope to return from this year rich in experience,  that my colleagues are unable to imagine, ready to take on the life of a graduate.

Leave a Reply

